General Enquiries - 01233 811 110

Attendance Reporting
01233 811 119    Email Us    Download Form

Local Governing Body


Wye School is part of United Learning, a group of schools in both the public and private sectors, working together for mutual benefit. United Learning aims to provide excellent education to children and young people; its mission is to bring out 'the best in everyone' – students, staff, parents and the wider community. The Group Chief Executive is Jon Coles and the Chairman of United Learning Trust, the trust legally responsible for United Learning Academies, of which Wye School is one, is Nigel Robson.

Whilst the legal governance of Wye School rests with The United Learning Trust, many areas of governance responsibility are delegated to a Local Governing Body

Wye School Local Governing Body

  • Mrs Margaret Williams (Chairman)
  • Mrs Caroline Archer (Parent Governor)
  • The Lady Bruce-Lockhart (Local Authority Governor)
  • Mrs Jane Loudon
  • Dr David Cameron
  • Mr Richard Bunting
  • Mr Crispin Beale


The Chairman, Margaret Williams, may be contacted by letter addressed to her at the school, or by email to the Clerk to the Governing Body, Caroline Castle,


Governors assume responsibilities as follows:

Safeguarding and Child Protection, including Safe Recruitment                     Margaret Williams

Health and Safety, and Premises                                                                           Jane Loudon

Community and Parental Engagement                                                                 Jane Loudon

Finance and Special Educational Needs and Disability                                      Margaret Williams

Curriculum and Data                                                                                                David Cameron


Governors also take a specific interest in and provide support for departments:

Art and Design Technology                                                                                      Jane Loudon

Humanities subjects                                                                                                  Caroline Archer

Mathematics                                                                                                               Margaret Williams

Science                                                                                                                         David Cameron

Music and Drama                                                                                                       Tessa Bruce-Lockhart



Wye School is a part of United Learning whose Trustees hold the ultimate responsibility for the governance of each United Learning school.

The Department for Education’s governance handbook identifies the essentials of effective governance as follows:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

United Learning’s Trustees delegate certain key roles and responsibilities to the school’s Local Governing Body (LGB) and these are set out clearly in the Scheme of Delegation (Appendix 4 to United Learning LGB Members Handbook), which can be seen on the United Learning website.

©2019 Wye School

Wye School is part of United Learning. United Learning comprises: UCST (Registered in England No: 2780748. Charity No. 1016538) and ULT (Registered in England No. 4439859. An Exempt Charity). Companies limited by guarantee. VAT number 834 8515 12.
Registered address: United Learning, Worldwide House, Thorpe Wood, Peterborough, PE3 6SB. Tel: 01832 864 444
Financial Accountability and Freedom of Information  | Terms, Cookies and Privacy

United Learning